, , , ,

Note: From my understanding, Yogi Bhajan taught about the ten bodies sporadically over many years of teaching. He didn’t teach a class on the Ten Bodies. Various students of his have collected the information I will be presenting to you here, namely from the The Aquarian Teacher Instructor Manual Level One and The Ten Light Bodies of Consciousness by Nivair Singh Khalsa.

thetenbodies“If you understand that you are Ten Bodies, and you are aware of those Ten Bodies, and you keep them in balance, the whole universe will be in balance with you.” – Yogi Bhajan

Inside the our training we were introduced to the concept of the Ten Bodies. Essentially this idea is that we are not just a physical body. Our physical body is one of the ten bodies that make us up. It is actually our fifth body!

You can think of our bodies fitting on the previous one(s) like a coat fits onto our physical body. Sometimes though a body will reside in a certain part of our auric field which will be mentioned when we go through the bodies.

Also, one more note, Yogi Bhajan did specifically state that these bodies do NOT correspond to the chakras.

We have one physical body, three mental bodies, and six energy bodies. The bodies are:

  • First Body – Soul Body
  • Second Body – Negative Mind
  • Third Body – Positive Mind
  • Fourth Body – Neutral Mind
  • Fifth Body – Physical Body
  • Sixth Body – Arcline
  • Seventh Body – Aura
  • Eighth Body – Pranic Body
  • Ninth Body – Subtle Body
  • Tenth Body – Radiant Body

Each one has a different function and can be strengthened or brought into balance with particular soul work. This soul work can be inner work, meditations, yoga, or other various self-healing techniques. The soul work required will depend on you as a person and how the body you are desiring to work on needs to come into balance.

Why would you want to strengthen or bring a body into balance?

When they are strong or in balance they help us by bringing gifts into our lives (or making us into a gift for the people who surround us like with the Neutral Mind!). When in balance we will be able to deal with disease before it manifests in the physical realms as well!

Having all of our bodies in balance and under our conscious control will help us attain a state of enlightenment.

This is going to be a weekly series, every Wednesday, we will take a look at one of the energy bodies. Each one will have a question or two for reflection, some basic facts about that body, and what you can do to strengthen or balance that energy body.

Tantric Numerology

One of the most effective ways for you to work with your energy bodies is to get your Tantric Numerology done here (its free or by donation). It is Yogi Bhajans way of doing numerology, and it will give you a good starting point when looking at which of the ten bodies you’d like to start playing with. They even tell you which bodies you may want to look at!

Here’s another free Tantric Numerology site! It gives a different yet similar view (more info) on each aspect of you.

So get your Tantric Numerology done, save it, and get ready for next week! 😉

In the mean time you can get started with the Kriya for Awakening Your Ten Bodies if you want.